Teams Finished Last in IPL: There have been a total of 15 editions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) thus far. In the IPL 2022, which marked the 15th season, two new teams were added, namely the Gujarat Titans and the Lucknow Super Giants. However, back in the 2011 season, there were already 10 teams participating, followed by 9 teams in both 2012 and 2013. From 2014 to 2021, the IPL reverted to being an 8-team tournament.

Now let’s take a closer look at the team that has ended up at the bottom of the table the most number of times among the eight teams in the previous season.

Also Read: Updated TATA IPL points table 2023

Delhi Capitals – 4 times

The Delhi Capitals, previously known as the Daredevils, have finished at the bottom of the league four times: in the years 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2018. Interestingly, Delhi started as a strong team, even securing the top spot on the points table in 2009. However, they failed to reach the final until 2020.

Between 2011 and 2018, Delhi Capitals were perhaps the weakest franchise in the IPL, with frequent changes in captaincy and a lack of identity. However, their fortunes turned around with the appointment of Shreyas Iyer as captain midway through the 2018 season and Ricky Ponting as head coach. They reached the playoffs in each of the last three seasons and made it to the final in 2020, but unfortunately fell short of winning the title.

Punjab Kings – 3 times

The Punjab Kings, previously known as the Kings XI Punjab, have been the most disappointing and least successful franchise in the entire history of the IPL. Only twice have they been able to reach the playoffs, losing in the semi-finals in 2008 and coming in second place in 2014. They routinely finished in the bottom half of the standings in the subsequent 12 seasons, earning the eighth spot three times in 2010, 2015, and 2016.

Under the leadership of R Ashwin and later KL Rahul, Punjab Kings have had success in the first half of the season but struggled in the second, missing out on a playoff spot over the past four years.

Also Read: Read the story of Rinku Singh; from a sweeper to KKR’s heartbeat

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad – 2 times

The Royal Challengers Bangalore and their passionate fans have experienced heartbreak on three occasions when the team lost in the finals of 2009, 2011, and 2016. However, they have also finished the season at the bottom of the table twice, in 2017 and 2019, both under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.

In addition to RCB, SRH has also finished at the bottom of the IPL points table twice. The Orange Army finished last for the first time in 2021 and they made this list again this year when they were handed the wooden spoon. The 2016 champions were beaten by MI in the last league game of IPL 2023 to be handed the wooden spoon for the second time in 3 years.

KKR, RR, MI – 1 time

Kolkata Knight Riders, in 2009, Rajasthan Royals in 2020 and Mumbai Indians in 2022 have each occupied the last position only once throughout their history. MI has won 5 titles, KKR has won two IPL titles, and RR has won it once.

KKR has maintained consistency since Gautam Gambhir took over, while RR has struggled since Shane Warne departed from the IPL. In their last seven seasons, RR has reached the playoffs thrice. Mumbai Indians have been the most successful IPL franchise since 2013 winning the title 5 times.

CSK – 0 times

Now, let’s shift our focus to the powerhouse and most successful IPL franchise: the Chennai Super Kings, who have lifted the trophy four times. Notably, this team has never finished at the bottom of the points table in any season.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) hold the title for being the most consistent team in IPL history. In their 12 seasons, with a two-year ban in between, they have secured a top-four finish 11 times and reached the final nine times. The only time they failed to qualify for the playoffs was in 2020 when they finished in the 7th position.


Q: Which IPL team has finished last the most number of times?

Ans: The Delhi Capitals (formerly Daredevils) have finished last in the IPL on four occasions.

Q: How many times has the Punjab Kings finished at the bottom of the IPL table?

Ans: The Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab) have finished in the bottom three times in the IPL.

Q: Have the Royal Challengers Bangalore ever finished last in the IPL?

Ans: Yes, the Royal Challengers Bangalore have finished last twice in the IPL, in the years 2017 and 2019.

Q: Which teams have never finished last in the IPL?

Ans: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has never finished last in any IPL season.

Q: How many times has Kolkata Knight Riders finished at the bottom of the IPL table?

Ans: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have finished last only once in their IPL history, in the year 2009.