The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) has announced the squad for the first 2 test matches against Australia starting February 09th. BCCI has included Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav in the Indian test squad for the first two test matches. Both Ishan and SKY were named in the original test squad for their scintillating performances in the recent limited-overs series. 

Ishan Kishan has been included in India vs Australia test squad as Rishabh Pant will remain sidelined for a long time due to injuries he picked up in a car accident last month. KS Bharat is another wicketkeeping option that the BCCI has chosen for the upcoming first 2 test matches against Australia. 

Jasprit Bumrah has been left out of the Indian test squad for the first 2 tests against Australia. Bumrah was earlier picked up for the ODI series against Sri Lanka early this year but was withdrawn from the squad hours before the first ODI commenced. The Indian pace attack will comprise names like Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Mohammad Shami and Jaydev Unadkat. 

Star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has also been named in the squad for the initial 2 test matches. However, his availability for selection in the playing 11 will be subject to his fitness. 

India vs Australia 2023 Test Series: Full Squad for the First 2 Test Matches

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.