India is facing Sri Lanka in the 1st ODI at Guwahati where Sri Lanka has opted to bowl first after winning the toss. When asked by the commentator why Dasun Shanaka chose to bowl first, he said that the Barsapara Cricket Stadium pitch always offers high-scoring games. Also, the dew factor in the evening will play an important role for the chasing side. The match begins at 1:30 PM IST and will be streamed live on Hotstar. 

Rohit Sharma, who is back on the team after passing the fitness test, did not seem perplexed at Shanaka’s decision. Rohit admitted that his team is happy to put runs on the board. He emphasized the fact that the bowlers must have enough games under their belt bowling with the wet bowl, which will help them in the upcoming ICC men’s 50-over world cup. 

India has opted for Shubman Gill to open alongside Rohit Sharma in the 1st one-day international. Also, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj are back in the playing 11. 

Sri Lanka has gone with the pretty same squad that played the T20I series. Avishka Fernando is playing in the place of Bhanuka Rajapaksa while Dilshan Madhushanka has been handed his ODI debut. Sri Lanka has gone with an additional spinning option with Dunith Wellalage. 

India vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI Playing 11

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Umran Malik, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal
Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka