The BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the remainder of the India vs Australia series 2023 which includes the last 2 test matches and the ODI series that will follow. Ranji Trophy 2023-winning skipper Jaydev Unadkat has been added to the test squad that will face Australia in the remainder of the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023. KL Rahul, despite his poor form, has been announced in the test squad but has not been named the vice-captain of the side. The final two tests of BGT 2023 will be played at Indore and Ahmedabad respectively. India currently leads by 2-0 in the Border Gavaskar Trophy

As mentioned above, the board has also announced the squad for the ODI series against Australia scheduled to begin on March 17. The 18-member ODI squad comprises names like Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja and Shreyas Iyer, all coming back after missing out on the previous New Zealand ODI series. Jaydev Unadkat has also been named in the 18-man ODI squad against Australia. 

The BCCI has also notified that Rohit Sharma will miss the 1st ODI against Australia due to family commitments. Hardik Pandya will lead the Indian side in the 1st ODI in the absence of Rohit. 

Notable exclusions from the ODI squad are Shahbaz Ahmed, Rajat Patidar and KS Bharat. All of them were part of the ODI squad that faced New Zealand at home in recent times. While Shahbaz and Patidar have been excluded due to the return of Iyer and Jadeja, Bharat misses out at the expense of underfiring KL Rahul. The detailed squads for the remaining BGT 2023 test series and the following ODI series have been given below. 

India Test Squad for the Last 2 Tests Against Australia

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat. 

India Squad for Australia ODIs

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat

The 3rd BGT test will be played in Indore from March 01 onwards. The final test will be hosted at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad from March 09 onwards.