FIH Hockey World Cup 2023 Schedule: Dates, Time and Venues

The 2023 FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup kicked off onJanuary 13. The opening match of this year’s Hockey World Cup was played between Argentina and South Africa at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, Odisha. Argentine won the opening match of the world cup 1-0. In total, 16 teams will participate in this year’s mega hockey event. Let us find out the Hockey World Cup 2023 schedule in the section below. 

FIH Hockey World Cup Detailed Schedule 2023 and Venues

The schedule and the venues for this year’s Men’s Hockey World Cup to be hosted by India have been given in the table below – 

Argentina vs South AfricaGroupJan 1313:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Australia vs FranceGroupJan 1315:00 HRSBhubaneswar
England vs WalesGroupJan 1317:00 HRSBhubaneswar
India vs SpainGroupJan 1319:00 HRSRourkela
Chile vs New ZealandGroupJan 1413:00 HRSRourkela
Malaysia vs NetherlandGroupJan 1415:00 HRSRourkela
Belgium vs KoreaGroupJan 1417:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Germany vs JapanGroupJan 1419:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Spain vs WalesGroupJan 1517:00 HRSRourkela
England vs IndiaGroupJan 1519:00 HRSRourkela
Chile vs MalaysiaGroupJan 1613:00 HRSRourkela
Netherlands vs New ZealandGroupJan 1615:00 HRSRourkela
France vs South AfricaGroupJan 1617:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Argentina vs AustraliaGroupJan 1619:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Japan vs KoreaGroupJan 1717:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Belgium vs GermanyGroupJan 1719:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Malaysia vs New ZealandGroupJan 1913:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Chile vs NetherlandsGroupJan 1915:00 HRSBhubaneswar
England vs SpainGroupJan 1917:00 HRSBhubaneswar
India vs WalesGroupJan 1919:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Australia vs South AfricaGroupJan 2013:00 HRSRourkela
Argentina vs FranceGroupJan 2015:00 HRSRourkela
Belgium vs JapanGroupJan 2017:00 HRSRourkela
Germany vs KoreaGroupJan 2019:00 HRSRourkela
2nd Pool C vs 3rd Pool DCrossoverJan 2216:30 HRSBhubaneswar
2nd Pool D vs 3rd Pool CCrossoverJan 2219:00 HRSBhubaneswar
2nd Pool A vs 3rd Pool BCrossoverJan 2316:30 HRSBhubaneswar
2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool ACrossoverJan 2319:00 HRSBhubaneswar
1st Pool A vs Winner 25QuarterfinalJan 2416:30 HRSBhubaneswar
1st Pool B vs Winner 26QuarterfinalJan 2419:00 HRSBhubaneswar
1st Pool C vs Winner 27QuarterfinalJan 2516:30 HRSBhubaneswar
1st Pool D vs Winner 28QuarterfinalJan 2519:00 HRSBhubaneswar
4th Pool A vs Loser 259-16 ClassificationJan 2611:30 HRSRourkela
4th Pool B vs Loser 269-16 ClassificationJan 2614:30 HRSRourkela
4th Pool C vs Loser 279-16 ClassificationJan 2616:30 HRSRourkela
4th Pool D vs Loser 289-16 ClassificationJan 2619:00 HRSRourkela
Winner 29 vs Winner 32SemifinalJan 2716:30 HRSBhubaneswar
Winner 30 vs Winner 31SemifinalJan 2719:00 HRSBhubaneswar
Loser 33 vs Loser 3413-16 ClassificationJan 2811:30 HRSRourkela
Loser 35 vs Loser 3613-16 ClassificationJan 2814:00 HRSRourkela
Winner 33 vs Winner 349-12 ClassificationJan 2816:30 HRSRourkela
Winner 35 vs Winner 369-12 ClassificationJan 2819:00 HRSRourkela
Loser 37 vs Loser 383rd PlaceJan 2916:30 HRSBhubaneswar
Winner 37 vs Winner 38FinalJan 2919:00 HRSBhubaneswar

Who is the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup Defending Champion?

Belgium is the reigning FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup defending champions. Belgium defeated the Netherlands in the final of the hockey world cup in 2018. India hosted the previous hockey world cup and this is the second consecutive they are hosting this tournament.

About johnsahil

John Sahil is a talented and versatile writer specializing in sports and pop culture content. With a passion for both subjects, John Sahil seamlessly blends his knowledge of the sports world and his keen interest in the latest trends in pop culture to create engaging and informative articles. His unique ability to capture the essence of these domains has made him an invaluable asset to the Sportsocket writing team. Extensive Sports Knowledge: John possesses a deep understanding of various sports, including football, basketball, tennis, and more. His in-depth knowledge of rules, player profiles, historical moments, and ongoing events enables hm to deliver comprehensive and accurate sports content that captivates readers. Pop Culture Enthusiast: John Sahil's love for pop culture extends beyond sports. He stays up-to-date with the latest trends, celebrity news, music releases, and movie premieres. His insightful articles reflect his ability to analyze and discuss the impact of pop culture phenomena on society and provide readers with fresh perspectives. John Sahil is a valued member of our writing team, where his expertise in sports and pop culture allows him to create compelling content. His articles are a testament to his passion, knowledge, and commitment to delivering high-quality content that informs, entertains, and engages readers in the ever-evolving worlds of sports and pop culture.

View all posts by johnsahil →