After a well-contested T20I series, the cricketing mela moves to the eastern part of the country – Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati, where India and Sri Lanka will face off in the 1st match of the 3-ODI match series. India vs Sri Lanka ODI series will be played at Guwahati, Eden Gardens Kolkata and Thiruvananthapuram. India won the T20I series 2-1 and they would like to continue their dominance over their opponents in the upcoming ODI series as well. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, will give nothing short of their 100% to win the ODI series. 

While the Indian T20I squad was filled with youngsters, the ODI squad looks completely different. Big names like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah and Shreyas Iyer return to the ODI squad. Rohit will lead the ODI squad and will take up his usual position of opening the batting for India. 

The Sri Lanka ODI squad does not look much different from its T20I squad. Shanaka will continue to lead the side. However, Lahiru Kumara could get a game instead of Dilshan Madhushanka, who was plundered for plenty in the final T20I match. 

India vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI Pitch Report

The pitch at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati has always been a belter. The pitch offers true carry and bounce which makes it difficult for the bowlers to contain the batters. The last international match (T20I) played at this venue produced more than 400 runs. Guwahati has hosted only one ODI and two T20Is to date and teams chasing have won twice. It is expected that the team winning the toss will opt to chase. 

India vs Sri Lanka: Head to Head in ODIs

The given table will give the readers how both these teams have fared against each other in the ODIs – 

  • Total number of matches played – 162
  • Matches won by India – 93
  • Matches won by Sri Lanka – 57
  • Matches producing no result – 11
  • Tied – 1

India vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI Probable Playing 11

India: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Siraj and Umran Malik

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (Capt), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha and Mahish Theekshana

India vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI Dream 11 Team

Ishan Kishan (WK), Kusal Mendis (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav (Capt), Dasun Shanaka (Vice Capt), Virat Kohli, Axar Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Umran Malik, Mohammad Siraj and Mahish Theekshana