The India vs New Zealand 2nd ODI will be played at Raipur, Chhattisgarh as India look to seal the series and take one step further to topple the Kiwis from the top of the ICC ODI men’s ranking table. India defeated New Zealand by 12 runs in the 1st ODI played at Hyderabad courtesy of a fine double hundred from Shubman Gill. India will look to come out all guns blazing in front of 60,000 people at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur while New Zealand would be hoping they can take that extra victory step to keep the series alive. 

India vs New Zealand 2nd ODI: Expected Pitch Conditions in Raipur

The Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium pitch is currently surrounded by mystery given the venue has never hosted an international match. Rain will not play spoilsport in the 2nd ODI between India and New Zealand while the temperature is expected to remain moderate. 

India vs New Zealand 2nd ODI: Expected Playing 11s

India is expected to field the same playing 11 that won them the 1st ODI in Hyderabad. It means, Rajat Patidar, who came in as a replacement for Shreyas Iyer, will have to wait to make the cut. Umran Malik is also expected to warm the table in the 2nd ODI given Shardul Thakur’s batting abilities in the lower order. 

India: Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj

The Kiwis are also not expected to change too many personnel going into the 2nd ODI due to inexperience and lack of resources. However, Tom Latham might be tempted to bring in Doug Bracewell instead of the underfiring Henry Shipley due to Doug’s experience and the fact he is handy with the bat as well. 

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (c & wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley/Doug Bracewell, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner

India vs New Zealand 2nd ODI: Dream 11 and Fantasy Team

Rohit Sharma (Bat), Shubman Gill (Bat), Virat Kohli (Bat), Tom Latham (Wk), Devon Conway (Bat), Mitchell Santner (All), Michael Bracewell (All), Mohammad Siraj (Bowl), Kuldeep Yadav (Bowl), Shardul Thakur (Bowl), Lockie Ferguson.