Cricket is played in only a handful of countries if compared to other sports like football, hockey and others. Inspite of being played and watched in a limited number of nations, the Indian Premier League is one of the highest-grossing sports leagues globally. With new rules and technological advancements every year, the IPL might become the most-viewed sporting event across the globe. 

With an increase in viewership of the IPL, more and more sponsors and advertisers are jumping in, pouring their money in pursuit of grabbing the attention of this huge viewership. This has resulted in an increased paycheck for the players and the winning teams. 

We have listed down the IPL prize money from the first edition till 2022 so that you can find out how the domestic franchise league has grown exponentially. 

How Much Did the IPL First Edition Winner Get?

IPL was first conducted in 2008 after India’s glory in the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007. Rajasthan Royals became the IPL champions in 2008 under the leadership of Shane Warne. The prize money Rajasthan Royals won in 2008 was INR 4.8 crores. 

How Much Did the IPL 2022 Winner Get?

The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League was won by Gujarat Titans under the fearless leadership of Hardik Pandya. GT was playing its first season in the tournament. The team clicked in unison at different stages of the tournament which eventually led them to be crowned as the champions. Gujarat Titans were awarded INR 20 crores along with the glistening IPL trophy. 

Year Wise Breakdown of IPL Winner’s Prize Money

The year-wise breakdown of the IPL winner’s prize money has been discussed in the following table – 

YearTeamWinner Prize Money (In INR)
2008Rajasthan Royals4.8 cr
2009Deccan Chargers Hyderabad6 cr
2010Chennai Super Kings8 cr
2011Chennai Super Kings10 cr
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders10 cr
2013Mumbai Indians10 cr
2014Kolkata Knight Riders15 cr
2015Mumbai Indians15 cr
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad20 cr
2017Mumbai Indians15 cr
2018Chennai Super Kings20 cr
2019Mumbai Indians20 cr
2020Mumbai Indians10 cr
2021Chennai Super Kings20 cr
2022Gujarat Titans20 cr

The above table shows how the IPL winner’s prize money has grown since the inception of the tournament. The amount saw a little dip in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A lot of revenue was lost as no spectators were allowed inside the stadiums. Also, Vivo opted out as the primary sponsor of IPL 2020 and BCCI had to give it to Dream11 within a few days. These factors majorly impacted the IPL winner’s prize amount in 2020.